To Wong Foo

In memoriam to Patrick Swayze, I’m Netflixing the Patrick Swayze movies I’ve loved over the years. To Wong Foo started up, and I had a question on trivia that I haven’t yet been able to find online.

In the movie, they are inspired by an iconic photograph of Julie Newmar, on which she has written “To Wong Foo, Thanks for Everything, Julie Newmar” (which becomes the title of the film). Now… my question is this. Did the illustrious Julie Newmar actually make that autograph in real life, or was it just a clever device for the film? If it was done in real life, then my question, my *real* question, is… Who’s Wong Foo?

The real Wong Foo, that is. If there is one.

The things I think of.

2 Responses to “To Wong Foo”

  1. Glenn (from NJ) Says:

    Yes, the photograph exists. The restaurant they used for that shot is in Jersey City, NJ. I had dinner there with IRC friends back in the 90s. 🙂 I have photos of the place.. but I can’t remember the name :-/

    http://www.wingfoot.org/gallery/v/Glenn/IRCDinner/IMG0003.jpg.html

  2. CMrok93 Says:

    Leguizamo and Swayze – and especially Snipes – just seem like Hollywood stars putting on a cabaret show. There is never any sense that these guys are real people. Good review, check out mine when you can!


Leave a Reply

